Blog DTM – finale: Hockenheimring

751696721

Dear DTM-Fans,

What an amazing DTM Finale 2013! Time just flew – Mike Rockenfeller is Champion and we now have to be patient because the winter without DTM is going to be really long…

Rocky, the champion and me…

742828332591461333

This season was crazy for me personally, as I did Hockenheimring 1, then went in my babybreak and just came back last weekend for the Finale. I missed seeing the DTM live – but of course I watched every single race on TV.

So, let’s talk about the Finale. The qualifying was so amazing – sunshine, perfect atmosphere and 4 BMW in the top 4. The word that Jens Marquardt kept using was “mega!”. At this point it was looking going for BMW.

The BMW Boss Jens Marquardt and me…

647860794
The BMW boys after their amazing qualifying tries…

959431315

Then came the crazy race the next day! The weather was terrible – rain and cold. So completely different conditions. But hey – the best weather for Timo Glock. How amazing. From P4 he did some magic and ended up winning the race! He certainly was the man of the day. In 2007 a former ex-F1 driver won a race in the DTM. And that was Mikka Häkkinen. So Timo was really delighted, thrilled… a great way to end the first season of his DTM carreer.

Bruno Spengler managed to still secure his 3rd pace in the championship. I guess he was quite happy with that. But considering he was DTM champion last year, I guess he was more than disappointed with his season.

Bruno and me…

486218947568420456
…another disappointed driver, Martin.

199501878

My personal highlight was seeing two people this weekend. Lewis Hamilton came by to pay us a visit and we had a nice chat. He did taxi rides in a DTM car and when I asked him, if he could imagine driving in the DTM in the near future, he smiled and said why not. So hey who knows…. I would love seeing Lewis in the DTM.

Lewis and I chatting about rumors and him maybe one day joining the DTM…

641869229

And Norbert Haug paid us a visit. It was great seeing him again! The fans jumped on him as soon as they saw him, asking him for autographs and pics. Norbert just found a new challenge: working for Paravan. A truly interesting topic – developing cars for handicapped people.

So, we saw an amazing last race weekend. Now we have to be patient till May 4th, till the DTM 2014 begins. It will be interesting to see, who stays and who joins the DTM – and Mercedes will have 8 cars again, so there are 2 cockpits to be filled.
And we have new destinations next year. Check out the new calendar:

calendar

If you want, check out www.dtm.tv. You will find my Backstage piece and my interview with Rocky and Ernst Moser. And of course also our analysis.

Have a fantastic winter and see you in May 2014. Can’t wait!!!

Lot of love

Verena

 

credit article + pics: Verena Wriedt

